Lima Bean Dip

NCI lima beans

Image via Wikipedia

Truth be told, I’ve loved lima beans since I was a kid (a strange kid who always ate my vegetables and loved them).  But I was a little skeptical about smashing them up and making dip.  Turns out it’s really delicious.  And let’s be honest with ourselves,  anything with bacon HAS to taste good.

I got the recipe from the October edition of Food Network magazine, which I consider the best food magazine I’ve purchased to date.  That may sound preposterous, but I’ve bought a lot of food magazines in my time.

Here’s proof:

Food Mags

I’ve already tried more recipes from this issue than I have from any other magazine.   The November issue isn’t nearly as good, but I’m sure it’s hard to come up with new and exciting ways to roast turkey and mash potatoes.

I have other stuff to post, too, and I’ll try to do that this week for those of you who actually keep up with me.  My creative energy is severely lacking now and the only things I REALLY want to do are spend time with my boys, sleep, and make sure the house remains livable.

Lima Bean Dip

Ingredients:

kosher salt

10-oz box frozen lima beans

2 cloves garlic

1/4 cup loosely packed fresh parsley

grated zest and juice of 1/2 a lemon

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

2 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled

Pita chips, vegetable sticks, or Melba toast, for serving

Directions:

1. Bring a saucepan of salted water to a boil.  Add lima beans and garlic and simmer until tender, 18-20 minutes.  Drain and rinse under cold water to cool slightly (the beans should be warm, but not hot).

2. Pulse the lima beans, garlic, parsley, lemon juice, lemon zest, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt in a food processor until incorporated but still slightly chunky.  Transfer to a bowl and top with bacon.  Serve warm or at room temperature with pita chips, vegetable sticks, or Melba toast.

Leave a comment