How to Make a Lego Minifigure Birthday Cake

I’ve been so busy since the birthday party that I haven’t even had time to sit down, much less write blog posts. But for those of you who’ve been asking, I’m making time today to share how I made the Lego Han Solo cake (sans Lego cake pan) for D’s birthday.

Step #1

This was the hardest part of the entire cake.  I spent a couple of hours recreating a Lego minifigure template on 12×12 cardstock.  I used red and green because they happened to be the two colors I had the most of.  If you didn’t have spare cardstock laying around, I’m sure a posterboard would work just fine, too.

I made the head and hands separately and taped them to the body to make sure they were proportional (and didn’t get lost before I was ready to make the cake).

David's Birthday 003

Step #2

Bake two sheet cakes.  I used a Martha Stewart recipe and I’m telling you honestly, I’ll NEVER use another cake recipe again in my life.  It was moist,  fluffy, and really delicious.  Make sure you let them cool completely before you start cutting it up.  That way, there’s a smaller chance of a giant tear appearing on the edges of your cake.

David's Birthday 004

Step #3
Place the template on top of the cake. Using a small, serated knife, cut around the edges of the template.  Because my template was slightly wider than the sheet cake, I cut out two small triangles to finish off the sleeves of Han’s shirt and then just stuck them on with some frosting.

David's Birthday 005

Step #4

Cut out the head the same way you cut out the body.

David's Birthday 009

David's Birthday 010

Step #4

I used a pint glass to cut out the circles for the hands.  Once they were cut out, I made sure they were proportional to his body and then cut out the inside.  Baking a couple of cupcakes would work just as well.

David's Birthday 012

Step #5

Put your Lego guy together.  I made my guy too big for one cake sheet, so I had to use two.  I didn’t really measure the cake sheets before I bought them, so I had to improvise by taping two together. David's Birthday 013Step #6
Ice that joker!  I iced the background colors first: the yellow of the head and hands, then the white shirt, and finally the pants.  Then I went back over the top, piped on the brown vest and hair, and then spread them gently so you couldn’t tell I’d used a pastry bag.  When that was finished, I made the black icing and piped the outline.
Lego Han Solo
I couldn’t be happier with how it came out.  I’m not a professional baker so it’s not perfect, but I absolutely loved making that cake.  And everyone at the party loved it too!

David's Birthday 088

10 thoughts on “How to Make a Lego Minifigure Birthday Cake

  1. Very nice! Can you tell me what size your pans where and the complete size of the Cake when it was done? THANK YOU for sharing this!!

    • Glad you enjoyed the post! I used a 12×18 sheet pan, and the finished cake ended up being a few inches wider and taller than that. I was really pleased with how it turned out, and my son still talks about how it was his favorite cake of all time.

      • I’m so sorry! I don’t have a template for it. I just used two pieces of 12×12 card stock and drew the outline myself – body on one piece and the head on the other, then taped them together. They do make mini figure cake pans, though, so you wouldn’t have to do anything but bake and ice.

Leave a Reply

