2011 in Review

I’ve wanted to do one of these posts for a couple of years, but never seem to find the motivation to get it done.  This year, I’m sucking it up even though I’d rather be reading a zombie novel and vegging out.

*Side note: I am using the questions as rewritten by Kate O. because I like her wording better.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

With the support of Hubs, I quit my job and started my freelance business.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

It took me half the year to attempt it, but I did finally quit smoking.  It was a resolution I’ve made every year for over a decade and it’s probably the only NY resolution I’ve ever actually followed through on.  It was the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life.

I have several resolutions for 2012.  Some are just for fun and others are serious business.

1.  Lose the 10 pounds I’ve put on since Thanksgiving. (for serious)

2. Write a crappy zombie novel and put it on Amazon.  (for fun)

3.  Read 60 books. (for fun)

4. Save more money. (for serious)

5. Do more crafting. (for fun, but may be detrimental to #s 3 and 4)

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nope

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Nope. I’ve been very lucky in that regard, and I truly hope I don’t have to answer yes to this question for many, many years.

5. What places did you visit?

This year, we spent a few days in Tuscaloosa.  Stu went for work training and David and I spent a couple of very fun days exploring the city.  Only a few months after our visit, an EF4 tornado ripped through the city and destroyed many of the places we saw.  David was devastated when he learned the mall and veteran’s memorial outside it had been severely damaged.

Stuart also went for training in Memphis and Starkville this year.  I accompanied him on the trip to Starkville, using that time to lay in a hotel room all day and spend some quality time not thinking about the outside world.  Dave and I both went on the Memphis trip.  We ate cupcakes, visited the Pink Palace Museum, and took his best friend, Moosey, on a sightseeing tour of the city.

We also went on vacation to New York and Canada this year.  We spent a week in Cato, NY on Cross Lake at Stu’s grandparent’s cabin.  While we were there, we took a day trip to Niagara Falls (in New York and Canada).

And, of course, we made the obligatory trips to Memphis (where I grew up) and Tupelo (the only decent shopping near our home) and spent some quality time camping with Stu’s folks, which we all enjoy immensely.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

We are lucky in the fact that our little family has all the things we really need.  That said, there are a few things that I wouldn’t mind adding to the mix.

We’ve not had a proper dining room table since we’ve lived in this house, and I’d love to finally have a big table for hosting family and friends.

I’d also like to have more fun little outings with the boys in 2012.  We always have fun when we spend the day out going wherever the wind blows us.

More than anything, I’d like to speak to my dad, who has pretended that I don’t exist since my mother divorced him four years ago.

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

April 25-28th The tornado outbreak across the South that killed hundreds of people.

August 22nd: My boy started Kindergarten.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Quitting my job to start my freelancing career.  It’s much less stressful, I have more time to spend with my family, and I absolutely love it.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Opening my big, fat mouth when I should have just kept quiet and severely damaging one of the most important relationships of my life.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I fractured my foot this year.  Not sure how it happened, but it took 5 weeks and three different X-rays at three different doctor’s offices to find out what the problem was.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

How about the best thing Stu bought me?  The iPhone 4S.  After living with the sub-par (understatement!) HTC Hero for a year and a half, the iPhone is the best thing to happen to me since David was born!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Well, Stuart continues to put up with me, so…..

And I learned that I don’t need to smoke to make it through the day.

And David is good most of the time.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

David has been in the principal’s office twice this year for not following directions in class.

There are others, but if you know me, you know them.  And you know that fault lies on both sides.  And you know I believe these situations are on the road to resolution, which is what I want more than anything.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Eating out.  Private school.  Legos.  Probably not in that order.

15. What did you get really excited about?

Definitely starting the freelance gig.

16. What song will always remind you of 2011?

F*ck You by CeeLo Green

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder? happier

b) thinner or fatter? fatter by ten pounds (which is what happens when you quit smoking, then quit exercising)

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

I wish we had traveled more.  I love traveling, even if it’s just for a quick day trip.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Arguing with and hurting the people I love most.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

We had a wonderful Christmas at home this year.  It was just us and Mama.  We ate, relaxed, watched television, ate, and lounged, and ate.  It was quiet, Mama and I both missed our family terribly, but it was a great, relaxing break from the real world.

21. Did you fall in love in 2011?

I fell in love with my iPhone, does that count?

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Game of Thrones, no contest.  Especially since True Blood has sucked so bad for the past two seasons.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I don’t hate anyone.  Except Ann Coulter.  And the Kardashians.

24. What was the best book you read?

Hunger Games trilogy, without question.  I loved them so much I read them all twice in 2011.

Honorable mentions to:

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank

Blindness by Jose Saramago

I also need to take this time to thank Sean Ennis for his recommendations in 2011.  He has yet to recommend a book I haven’t absolutely  devoured.

25. What music did you get excited about?

Mumford and Sons album Sigh No More

Katy Perry’s “Friday Night”

CeeLo Green’s “F*uck You”

Adele “Rollin’ in the Deep”

26. What did you want and get?

A new laptop and iPhone.

27. What did you want and not get?

A Kitchenaid.  Again.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Limitless, Contagion, Rio, Bridesmaids.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

34 this year.  Had a wonderful lunch at Rice and Spice with Claire and Danielle.  Ate some amazing white chocolate fudge with cranberries and pistachios. Nursed a hangover from Stuart’s office Christmas party.

30. What one thing would have made your year more satisfying?

More money.  More travel.  Less fighting.  Fewer financial difficulties.  You know, the usual.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

Bored.  Unconcerned.

32. What kept you sane?

Stuart.  Reading.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Johnny Depp.  Since I was 16.  Not likely to change in future years.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

Inititative 26. I really want the Personhood people to go away.

35. Whom did you miss?

My dad.   My Seester.  Steve Willis.  My Grandma Oliver, always.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

Best new group of friends: Claire, Danielle, Chrissy, Gabrielle, Heather, Sarah, and Mary Katherine.  The only thing I can tell you about this is that we are hilarious and it’s a good thing we can’t all be in the same room at the same time because I’m pretty sure the world would end.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

My feet don’t taste good.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Sometimes there’s airplanes I can’t jump out

Sometimes there’s bullshit that don’t work now

We are the god of stories, but please tell me

What’s there to complain about?

-Good Life by One Republic

 

 

Leave a Reply

