Book List Update

8706997_s

Whew! I’ve been hard at work reading your book recommendations and, for the most part, I’m really enjoying them all!

 

 

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, this post should get you caught up.

I thought I’d make a list of books that I’ve read (or attempted to read) since this project’s inception in case any of you are wondering if your suggestion has been read. As I started making this list, I realized that I’ve read quite a number of them already! It’s a good feeling to know that I’ve made such great progress on the project so far without even knowing it.

Without further ado, here’s the list with 1 to 5-star ratings beside them . Again, if you’d like to see the whole list from this project, you can view it on Goodreads.

1. Needful Things, Stephen King     4 stars (Great story, hokey ending)

2. The Mercy of Thin Air, Ronlyn Domingue 4 stars (Took me a minute to get into the premise of the story, but so glad I stuck it out.)

3. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Rebecca Sloot 4 stars (Not really a fan of nonfiction, but this was a GREAT read.)

4. Go Ask Alice, Unknown/Beatrice Sparks, 2 stars (What. The. Hell? Did anyone BELIEVE that shit?)

5. The Help, Katherine Stockett 4 stars (I was irrationally angry throughout the whole book, but damn it was a good story.)

6. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak 4 stars (Such a sad story, but really, really beautiful.)

7. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Hunter S. Thompson 3 stars (Completely uncomfortable through the whole book, but entertaining,

nonetheless.)

8. The Serial Killers Club, Jeff Povey 2 stars (Let’s just say it wasn’t a favorite. That’s the nice thing to say, m’kay?)

9. Fay, Larry Brown 4 stars (I love Larry Brown. LOVE. HIM. His characters generally fly off the page, and they generally remind you of someone you know.)

10. Twilight at the World of Tomorrow, James Mauro 3 stars (Entertaining, but I think it could have been done a little better.)

11. The Walking Dead, Compendium 1, Robert Kirkman 4 stars (Holy CRAP, Kirkman isn’t afraid to kill everyone off. Love.)

12. Dragon Tattoo trilogy, Steig Larssen 4 stars (Amazing.)

13. Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy Toole (Gave up after chapter 3. Sorry y’all.)

14. Suttree, Cormac McCarthy (Didn’t finish. Got about halfway through. Only McCarthy novel I’ve ever read that I hated.)

15. Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, Tom Franklin 5 stars

16. 50 Shades trilogy, E.L. James 3 stars (I know, I know. But it was nothing if not entertaining.)

17. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Jonathan Safran Foer 3 stars (So, so sad.)

18. Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen 4.5 stars (A favorite that I’ll probably read over and over again.)

19. The Stand, Stephen King 4 stars (Randall Moon is one creepy SOB.)

20. Child of God, Cormac McCarthy 5 stars (An all-time favorite. 10,000 times better than Suttree.)Devil in the White City, Erik Larson 4 stars (Interesting, though SLOW as hell.)

21. Blindness, Jose Saramago 4 stars (You know I’m a sucker for a post-apocalyptic novel.)

22. 1984, George Orwell 4 stars (Can’t believe I hadn’t read it before.)

23. The Possession, A.S Byatt (Couldn’t finish it.)

Thanks to each and every one of you who have taken the time to tell me your favorite book. I’ve really enjoyed so many of them!

If you have suggestions, please feel free to leave them in the comments section here or on my Facebook update where the link to this post appears.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

