The First Month

January has just flown by! It seems the older I get, the faster the years pass. I think this is especially true since David was born. Every day I look at him and wonder how he could be 7 years old, how on Earth it happened so fast, and what happened to the adorable, chunky little toddler who lived on Matchbox cars, goldfish, and Pixar movies.

These days, Dave is living on chicken nuggets and LEGOs and Doomsday Preppers. Other things David loves currently?  The History Channel, Border Wars, Little Debbie Cosmic Brownies, YouTube, NASCAR, and football. And I’m endlessly proud of him; he is such a good kid.

Anyway, there were lots of fun things in January!

David and I made a cake and he decorated it with all the sprinkles we had in the house. It was, as I’m sure you can see by the picture, quite crunchy. But it was so delicious that I polished off all but a couple of pieces in a matter of days.

IMG_4279

Look out, Peeta! There’s a new cake decorator in town!

As I mentioned earlier, David really got into Doomsday Preppers this month, so we’ve been catching up on all the episodes we can via DVR. Sometimes, we snuggle on the couch and talk about how crazy those preppers are.

IMG_4297

We’ve been working on repainting the house. After 7 years, a kid, and a cat who enjoys scratching her nails on the walls it was time. We painted  the dining room and kitchen before Thanksgiving last year, but still hadn’t gotten around to painting the trim. A couple of weeks ago, I finally got motivated to start painting again, but the universe had other plans for me. I opened the paint can to find this.  I exchanged it for a different brand, but lost the motivation to paint. Maybe this weekend; probably not.

IMG_4284

This was a cold, rainy month in Mississippi. And while I usually hate the winter, after four long days of rain the sun came out and we got the most beautiful sunset I’ve seen in ages.

IMG_4314

And just when I was beginning to love the mild Mississippi winter it got icy and rainy and gross. The  upside to this was that we got a couple of snow days out of the deal. It was nice having Dave home in the middle of the week. We watched lots of tv and were generally lazy. Dave spent a lot of time on Lego.com and YouTube.

IMG_4363

IMG_4374

January has also been a colorful month for David and me. My dear friend, Chrissy, gave me a huge box of hair chalk, and Dave and I have tried several different-colored stripes. Stuart remains unimpressed.

IMG_4347

IMG_4260

IMG_4247

In school news, we got report cards. Just as I’ve known all along, Boy Wonder is a genius.

IMG_4299

And if that wasn’t wonderful  enough, David won the Eagle’s Eye award this month. It’s an award given to a student each week for setting a good example for his or her peers.

IMG_4325

Adventures in Boy Scouts continues. Last week, the Tiger Scouts practiced the flag ceremony so they can conduct it at the pack meeting next month.

IMG_4400

Last weekend, they toured the Oxford police station.

IMG_4460

For those of you not in the know, our son (like many kids his age) is a hoarder. He won’t ever let me throw anything out. I finally got tired of looking at all the crap and cleaned out his room. With his help, we got rid of over half his toys! I’m in the process of cleaning out our closets in the hopes that we’ll have enough stuff to have a yard sale in the spring.

IMG_4405

Once his room was clean, we rearranged all his LEGOs. And this is the result. Did I tell you we have a moratorium on new LEGOs?

IMG_4411

I’ve been doing volunteer work at David’s school, and this week, I had the privilege of working in his classroom. I got to see first grade in action and it was so much fun. They all broke into pairs and took turns reading stories out loud to each other. It made me want to sit in on his class every single day.

IMG_4414

Incidentally, David’s teacher, Mrs. Kimberly, lets the kiddos listen to music while they’re working. While I was in class, “Down to the River to Pray” by Allison Krauss came on. The kids were all singing along and it was pretty much the sweetest thing I’ve ever heard in my life. I *may* have had something in my eye.

And, finally, I think we all know this post wouldn’t be complete without some obligatory Squeaky Kitty photos.

IMG_4293

Squeaky Kitty loves work as much as I do.

Squeaky Kitty is entirely too adorable.

Squeaky Kitty is entirely too adorable.

IMG_4282

Squeaky Kitty is also very cuddly.

 

Whew! Once I started going through my January pictures I realized we’ve done a lot of stuff this month! Hopefully all of 2013 will be as wonderful as the beginning!

Leave a Reply

